Wendy Cartmell  

 Author of the Sgt Major Crane military crime thrillers   

Blog

Wendy Cartmell, Author of the Sgt Major Crane Novels.  Writing about books and publishing.

view:  full / summary

Endeavour Press publish Emma Harrison Mysteries

Posted by [email protected] on October 18, 2015 at 7:20 AM Comments comments (0)

Endeavour Press have published the first two instalments in the Emma Harrison mystery series. Emma is an Assistant Governor at Reading Young Offenders' Institute, who finds out just how many secrets the prison holds. When an escaped prisoner kidnaps her mother, Emma has to help track him down in Past Judgement. Before she can take a breath, an evil prison officer begins to stalk the most vulnerable prisoners, urging them to commit suicide. Can emma catch the Whisperer before any more young men die?

Both books are on Amazon

http://getbook.at/pastjudgment       

http://getbook.at/MortalJudgement

                     


Cause for Celebration

Posted by [email protected] on September 6, 2015 at 6:50 AM Comments comments (0)

There's plenty to celebrate for me this week. I've finished my latest Sgt Major Crane crime thriller, Solid Proof, which is winging its way to my publisher Endeavour Press.

Added to that:

Hijack, the latest Crane thriller is currently on sale for 99c and 99p

http://getBook.at/Hijack

Steps to Heaven, the first Crane thriller is currently FREE!!!

http://myBook.to/StepstoHeaven

Click either link to go to your local Amazon store.

I hope the above offers go some way to saying 'thank you' for buying my books in the past. Oh and if you enjoyed Hijack or Steps to Heaven please leave a review, it would be really appreciated.

Happy reading!

Endeavour Press to publish Hijack and Glass Cutter!

Posted by [email protected] on July 21, 2015 at 4:05 AM Comments comments (0)

Endeavour Press are to shortly publish the latest Sgt Major Crane crime thrillers, Hijack and Glass Cutter. As a result these titles will not be available on Amazon for a short period of time in kindle format.

If you are reading through the series and are desperate to read the next instalment, don't worry! Drop me a line and I'll be happy to send you a review copy of either Hijack or Glass Cutter. I can be contacted through my website: http://www.wendycartmell.webs.com or direct by email on: w_cartmell (at) hotmail.com

Work on the 8th Crane crime thriller, Solid Proof is going well and is due to be published by Endeavour Press around October 2015.

Happy reading and thank you so much to all my readers who take the time and trouble to leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. It really does make a difference and helps potential buyers make the decision to purchase.

Sgt Major Crane promotions FREE and 99c books

Posted by [email protected] on March 20, 2015 at 1:00 PM Comments comments (0)

HIJACK a must reads thriller is FREE! Use this link for your local Amazon store:

http://mybook.to/B00MXT7RLG

TERRIFIED Eight hostages, men, women and children. IMPRISONED Trapped in a train, 100’ above the Yorkshire Dales on a viaduct.

ENDURANCE Do they have what it takes to stay alive? FREE for three days until 22nd March.


 

REGENERATE is on 99p PROMO from Monday 23rd to Monday 30th March.

In this gripping, devastating and utterly absorbing read a young widow's baby dies with catastrophic repercussions.

http://viewbook.at/Regenerate


 

Finally the new Sgt Major Crane crime thriller GLASS CUTTER has just been released. A hidden diary is the only clue that Matilda Underwood has ever lived in the house. But when Louise Marshall finds it and starts to read, that's when people start to die...

http://mybook.to/glasscutter

Happy reading!

NEW RELEASE: PAST JUDGMENT

Posted by [email protected] on November 18, 2014 at 3:00 AM Comments comments (0)

The past has a way of catching up with you....

At least it does for Emma Harrison, newly appointed assistant governor for inmate welfare at Reading Young Offender’s Institute and for Leroy Carter, a prisoner who has been convicted of murder.

When the prison van taking Leroy to Dartmoor crashes and he escapes, he’s hell-bent on proving his innocence. Leroy and the original detectives on his case, have to face the past head on. But so does Emma, when a fellow passenger from the train hijack she was a hostage on, three years earlier, walks back into her life.

Can Leroy prove his innocence? And has Emma exorcised the ghosts from her past?

Past Judgment is the start of a new series from best-selling crime thriller and mystery author Wendy Cartmell. It is a spin-off from the Sgt Major Crane novels and features Emma Harrison from Hijack and Sgt Billy Williams of the Special Investigations Branch of the Royal Military Police.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PLXLTZ6

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00PLXLTZ6


Who's Afraid Now - FREE!

Posted by [email protected] on August 5, 2014 at 7:30 AM Comments comments (2)

Who's Afraid Now? Sgt Billy Williams returns home to see his parents for the week end. But unbeknown to him there is trouble on the housing estate. Can Billy bring the gang to order and make the estate safe for the residents?

Who's Afraid Now is a 10,000 word short story that is the prequel to the new novel Line of Defence. A train is hijacked in the middle of the Yorkshire Moors. Can Billy help keep the hostages safe and can Sgt Major Crane ensure a successful end to the seige?

Just complete the contact form for your free copy of Line of Defence and let me know if you want a kindle copy or a pdf.

Happy summer reading!


Sgt Major Crane published by Endeavour Press

Posted by [email protected] on July 1, 2014 at 10:40 AM Comments comments (0)

I'm very proud to announce the news that Endeavour Press, the UK's leading publisher of digital books have published the Sgt Major Crane series.

All five in the series are now available and I think the covers looks amazing:


Steps to Heaven

40 Days 40 Nights

Honour Bound

Cordon of Lies

Regenerate

The Sgt Major Crane military mysteries are edge-of-the-seat crime thrillers that are perfect for fans of Lee Child and Peter James.

 

Praise for the series:

'A real page turner, with a brilliantly original detective.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

'Dark, mysterious...and gripping.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'

 

REGENERATE - Free June 10-14

Posted by [email protected] on June 12, 2014 at 12:45 AM Comments comments (0)

Regenerate the latest Sgt Major Crane crime thriller is now FREE June 10-14 grab your copy now!

 

When Padre Symmonds and his wife Kim find a dead baby on the steps of the Royal Garrison Church, they call Sergeant Major Crane in to investigate.

 

Despite pleas from the local community and the media for the parents to come forward and seek help, Crane can’t trace the baby’s mother.

 

He suspects Kerry, a recently widowed army wife, who is finding it hard to deal with her husband’s recent death…

 

But after searching her flat and checking her baby was safe and breathing, he is left with an uncanny feeling that he’s missed something.

 

Simultaneously, Crane is expected to deal with a high profile drugs case.

 

Someone inside the Army is importing heroin using army equipment as a cover-up.

 

But just as he gets a lead on the case, the unthinkable happens and another baby goes missing in Aldershot…

 

This may be his only chance to catch the drug lord Anic, but he can’t stop thinking about Kerry and her baby…

 

What has he missed?

 

And can he solve the mystery before it’s too late?

Get your copy NOW! What have you got to lose?


http://dld.bz/dsbtv Amazon US
http://dld.bz/dsbtb Amazon UK

New Release - Who's Afraid Now and CWA Membership

Posted by [email protected] on May 11, 2014 at 5:50 AM Comments comments (0)


Sgt Billy Williams is going home for a restful week end with his parents. But what he finds when he gets there, is far from restful. Residents of the Mount Pleasant Housing Estate are scared of the local youths, who are running wild. Can Billy help? Or do the residents just have to make the best of things?

 

This 10,000 word short story is a prequel to the new Sgt Major Crane thriller 'Line of Defence' - due for publication this summer.

 

Sgt Billy Williams features heavily in the Sgt Major Crane crime thrillers. They cover the criminal investigations of the Special Investigations Branch of the Royal Military Police, based on Aldershot Garrison. The eBooks are published by Endeavour Press, the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books. They are edge-of-the-seat crime thrillers that are perfect for fans of Lee Child and Peter James.

Now available from Amazon: myBook.to/B00K1XQZUU

I'm also very excited to confirm that I'm now a paid up member of the Crime Writer's Association as a published author with Endeavour Press. This had been my ambition since first starting to pen the Sgt Major Crane novels and I'm so pleased and proud to have got there!


Honour Bound - FREE!

Posted by [email protected] on April 15, 2014 at 4:00 AM Comments comments (0)

Honour Bound (previously entitled Violation) is the latest Sgt Major Crane book to be offered FREE on Amazon.

 

Honour Bound is available FREE from Wednesday April 16th to Saturday April 19th.

Sergeant Major Crane is rarely called in to investigate cases of rape.

But now he and his SID team must investigate two cases simultaneously.

A young soldier claims he has been repeatedly attacked by a commanding officer, but is struggling to make a formal complaint.

And a young woman is found raped and murdered in her home following a night out in Aldershot.

The only clues are witness statements claiming the attacker is a squaddie.

When there is another attack chillingly close to home, Crane no longer knows who is innocent and who is guilty.

But is the killer really a soldier?

How does he manage to operate in plain sight?

And can Crane catch him before he strikes again?

Available from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk

The third instalment in Wendy Cartmell's thrilling military detective series, 'Honour Bound' is a gripping tale for both hardcore fans and new readers alike.

Praise for Wendy Cartmell:

'A real page turner, with a brilliantly original detective.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

'Dark, mysterious...and gripping.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'

Wendy Cartmell is a former teacher, PR manager and editor of a large corporate newspaper, who has always written, either for her work, or stories for her children. Her new crime series features Sgt Major Crane of the Special Investigations Branch, drawing on her husband's 22 years of service in the British Army.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.




Rss_feed